Heartstrings…

I went to Mars Hill for church this morning. I went on 4 hours of sleep and no time to stop and think or pray (though prayer is supposed to be continual-1 Thessalonians 5:17).

God was so there, and He met me in such a powerful way today. Throughout the semester Rob Bell and various other speakers have been teaching on the sermon on the mount, and today we had reached the end of the ‘beatitudes,’ Matthew 5:10-12.
“Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven,” and the rest of the verses continue the statement of blessing with the extension of being persecuted on Jesus’ account, finally ending the announcement of blessing with a commandment- “Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven…”

Up until this point I was questioning everything that came out of the mouth of Mr. Bell. Things I thought I knew I have apparently misinterpreted. There was a freedom in the rejoicing, and the command to ‘leap much.’ Tears were trickling down my face, and that was from the joy in freedom.

God has been preparing me for this freedom for a while. The sermon on the mount was a big deal at the beginning of the semester, and right now I have tasted the fruits of Jesus’ second commandment. Prior to the sermon he was preaching a baptism of repentance.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

