A Visual Commentary…

I sat down in church today, not in a seat but, on the floor. There was an obtuse corner that begged for my attention. The light shining from the tall window was directly on my lap, in a fashion that yearned for creation.

Ruth and I have been creating a booklet throughout this quarter, and I hadn’t constructed a page all week. Last week I did my page while running slides for the service, and it seemed fitting for me to create again this day.

I sat on the floor in the wide corner and set my things all around me. The worship music began, and my worship painting followed. My worship this morning was more of a confession, a pouring out of my heart to God.

Below is my attempt at concept…tell me what you think.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here we have the visual and the editorial. Yes! I do believe that I am a fan of this work after all. John Hendrix, SooJin Buzelli, and Chris Buzelli were special guests at the Atlanta campus of Savannah College of Art and Design, and they all did their part in inspiring me.

Chris said that ‘Concept is King,’ which is a phrase that is now covering my sketch-book. They sunk in because I am somewhat of a literal thinker. I draw what I see and hear. Little for me is conceptual.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “A Visual Commentary…

  1. Bryan says:

    a) I find the floors more comfortable, as well. If I ever win the lottery, I will be sure to buy CCB all new chairs and end the congregation’s suffering! lol

    b) What is your definition of “concept?” I have found you to have literal tendencies, true, but by my definition of concept, you do quite well. As an artist it is vitally important to explore every avenue, yes, but to always be true to yourself. Do not think you have to make radical changes to who you are, for there is no art in that. So, again, I ask, what is your definition of “concept?”

Leave a comment